Tailor Made - The String Theory Cd

In stock


Tailor Made - The String Theory


1. The String Theory
2. Let’s Go
3. Blow Em Up
4. Good Morning
5. Animals
6. The Strings
7. Grow Up
8. The Germs
9. Droppin Science (Ft. Simply Complex)
10. Stagnation
11. Walking In My Thoughts
12. Interlude
13. The Process
14. Bad Man (Ft. Kristoff The Russian)
15. Sometimes I Think
16. I Am (Bonus Track)
17. Animals (Remix)

Tailor Made - The String Theory

The debut full-length from Brisbane-based trio Tailor Made is certainly pretty deep.
Much like the origin of its namesake, The String Theory - the existential notion that
our universe is but one in a chain of many that split apart and combine - presents
more a wealth of possibilities rather than any singularly defined outcomes. Pondering
and philosophical yet free flowing and chilled, these seventeen tracks are an atypical
and diverse fusion of hip hop, with sharp boom-bap beats softened and expanded by
thick doses of psychedelia and guitar driven funk.

Tailor Made is manned by Enggy (producer/MC), Synergy (MC), and Able2 (DJ/
producer). Formed in 2008, they’ve since scored support slots for international acts
like Dead Prez and Total Eclipse, while having also shared the stage with excellent
locals such as The Optimen, Daily Meds, The Coalition Crew, Dub Marine, Pure
Product and more. The band’s material has been spread to the nation with support
from Triple J’s hip hop show, Triple J Unearthed digital radio and independent
Brisbane broadcasters 4ZZZ FM.

“For us it was really about our resistance to, and the inevitable reality of growing
up,” comments Synergy. “It was us starting to understand how things are set up in
the world and expressing our gut reaction. From humanity’s abusive relationship
with the natural world, to the social structures which inhibit meaningful growth
and connection, this album I think gauges our response to these challenges.”
“It’s taking a string, sound or note and bending or altering it to a different sonic
dimension whilst still maintaining the basic principles on which it was founded,”
adds Enggy. “Everyone has their own ideas and philosophies on music and life
in general: this is our theory.”

From the sinister atmosphere and bottom line reality check of ‘Animals’, to the
downtown vibes and urban observations of ‘The Germs’, and the curious tweaking
of ‘Walking In My Thoughts’, the record is diverse yet holistic. The sum of these ideas
is a conceptualisation that is clever without being condescending, and poignantly
introspective yet playful. This is a multiverse of sounds and ideas reverberating far
beyond the trio’s suburban perspective, all while never leaving their earth too far

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account